Resolved…?

I wasn’t going to write about New Years resolutions but then I read the Daily Prompt, which asked “Have you ever made a New Years resolution that you kept?” and I honestly don’t know if I ever have and that got me thinking about what resolution I might be able to keep.  I’d also read Mrs.Wickie’s (a fellow SHWI member) resolutions and I fully commend her on them all but the main thing I have in common with Vickie is what she says in her profile: “When I’m old, I want to look back at my life and only have things to regret because I genuinely couldn’t fit them in, and not because I was too lazy to try.”  That pretty much sums up how I feel but I’m not making any resolutions this year.  Instead my aim is simply to be better.  I know that’s completely vague (and is not very SMART but this is life and not work) but I’m sticking with it.  I’ll try to expand a little though….

Better as a person; as a wife, a sister, a friend or just as a stranger.  I’m snappy and grumpy and I swear a lot so in theory there are a lot of quick wins here but old habits die hard.  I’m also very tense and fairly angry a lot of the time so maybe by being a better person I’ll also find some inner peace*.  I’ve already mentally chalked up one point today; I didn’t argue with Mr.J about why there were two tea towels out when it was not me who got a second one out.   Life is too short to argue about tea towels.

Image

Better at stuff; at work, at crafts, at sports, at piano.  I think I’m OK at most of the stuff I do but there’s always room to improve.  I’ve always worked on the basis that if you try your absolute best at something then that’s all anyone can ask of you and that’s good enough.  But, it’s a lot easier to say than to do all of the time.  I hate it when I make mistakes at work and I hate it when I make bad passes at sports or go wrong when I’m playing piano. I don’t think there are any easy answers for this aspect of being better other than to make sure I’m trying as hard as I can as much of the time as possible.  And maybe doing (more) piano practice.

I’m sure there are loads of other ways in which I can be better but for now it’s time to:

Image

* This could be considered somewhat selfish and therefore be the opposite of better but I’m going to think of this as a win/win situation!

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Resolved (Organ Player Paris) « What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: LAZY RESOLUTIONS « hastywords

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 315 other followers

