Looking forward to next year!

A few nights ago I started writing stuff onto our new calendar and I got quite excited about all the fun things that are happening next year.  I’m very excited about our week away in Scotland for some reason.  I’m not sure if this is because it will be my first annual leave after the Christmas/New Year break or if I am actually excited about going to Scotland at the beginning of March!  I will be keeping my fingers crossed for mostly dry days as I want to do lots of walking and take lots of photographs of the moody Scottish moors and hills.

There are already lots of things in the diary for January and the rest of the year though.  I’m really looking forward to going to my first classical music concert on 13th January.  I’m going to see the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra at the City Hall thanks to my piano teacher who has organised the trip for lots of her pupils.  They’re performing Brahms, Rachmaninov and Strauss and I’d say that Rachmaninov was in my top 3 classical composers so that should be brilliant.

My piano teacher is also hosting a “Desert Island Discs” night where everyone is going to take their favourite song/piece of music and say a little bit about it.  I thought I’d chosen mine but I’m not sure as I like too many songs!! I was going to take “Your Hand in Mine” by Explosions in the Sky (EITS) but I’ve listened to it a couple of times recently and it didn’t give me the same spine-tingle as I’d remembered but maybe that’s because I’ve overplayed it – it’s still amazing.  January is also going to be awesome because that’s when we’re going to see EITS live again.  We’re even going all the way to Leeds on a school night – that is how much we love them.

Other highlights for 2012 are a couple of weddings we’ve been invited to.  The first is in April and I am already so excited – I’ve even bought a new dress!! There will be plenty of board games nights and meals with friends too, and at least two new arrivals expected to join our friends families which will also be super exciting (if a little tiring for them!).  I’ve also been starting to plan our next JenkinSunts adventure but it’s still very early days so I’m not going to say any more about that until it becomes more definite as I’d hate to jinx it…2012 will also see LittleSunts graduate – which will be amazing but totally scary, as it’s just another indication of the swift passage of time!

Looking back on 2011, it’s been another great year and at the risk of sounding religious, we so so much to be thankful for.  Sometimes I get (pretty) grumpy and frustrated and mardy and lots of other words to describe being a bit miserable, but if I’m honest I’ve got very little to complain about really and I hope that I can say the same this time next year.

So, to all my family, friends and any passers by – all the best for 2012!!  If it’s as good as my 2011 then you’ll have a blast 😀

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

