Progress….

So, I don’t have any real news to share or any completed craft projects but I think I’ve made some, albeit minimal progress with piano so I’m going to be really brave and share a snippit with you on the back of today’s Daily Prompt post about applying yourself.

The thing that is not coming easily to me is piano, and at this particular moment in time it’s this beautiful, but totally out of my league Waltz in A Minor by Chopin.  Here’s a far more talented person showing how it should be done:

And, here’s my current progress with the first 8 bars.  I hope anyone watching this feels tremendously honoured as I am so nervous about playing in front of anyone that it took about 5 attempts of recording this on my piano and then re-playing it to record on my phone to get something I was even vaguely content with:

Clearly my version is far too slow at the moment but even getting to this stage feels like a real breakthrough.  On Monday, after yet another frustrating practice session, where once again I was not able to even slightly master playing both hands of this piece together I considered giving up learning the piano completely, not even just putting this piece on the back burner!

But, I had another practice on Tuesday and a very small, but significant piece of the jigsaw seemed to click into place and for once I remembered my teachers instructions of breaking things up and playing things slowly.  I still think that getting this far is about the equivalent of climbing Ben Nevis, whilst the rest of this piece is more like climbing Kilimanjaro and Everest whilst being chased by Alien, Predator and hoards of zombies but I’ll just have to give it my best shot!  Oh, and maybe doing daily practice will help too…

 

4 Comments

  1. That was excellent 🙂 It wasn’t as slow as I had imagined either given what you had said. And don’t you dare give up!

  2. Please don’t give up. Anything worth having or doing requires hard work and dedication. You actually played quite well. After reading your description of yourself, I didn’t expect you to be that good. We’re always our own worst critics. Please keep up the good work, and share it with us once you’ve tackled this. I can’t wait to hear it! As a matter of fact, I think I’ll follow you, just so I can hear the finished product. Thank you for putting yourself out there and sharing this with us!

    Many blessings,
    Cheryl

Leave a Reply

